LEARN HOW TO RIDE OR RAISE A CONCERN
SCHEDULE A RIDE (24 HOUR NOTICE PREFERRED, FIRST COME FIRST SERVE SCHEDULING)
Call 785-772-1053 between 8 am – 5 pm, Monday – Friday (except county holidays) to schedule a ride.
HOURS OF SERVICE:
8 am – 5 pm, Monday – Friday (except county holidays)
Contact the Transportation Coordinator to request group use after business hours. Availability not guaranteed.
Transportation within Cheyenne County exclusively is free of charge; however, donations are accepted to help with the operating costs of providing this service. Fares are charged for any transportation outside of Cheyenne County and are expected at the time of service. Service origin must be within Cheyenne County.
- Inside Cheyenne County limits: Donation Only
- Travel to adjacent counties in Kansas (Sherman or Rawlins): $25 per person round trip
- Travel to other regional locations within Kansas (maximum distance 200 miles): 30 cents per mile – roundtrip mileage calculated
HOW DO I GET A RIDE?
Appointments for rides are taken Monday thru Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. by 785-772-1053. We schedule vehicles and drivers today to meet the demand for rides tomorrow. To assure a ride, it is advisable to book your trip as far ahead as possible up to two weeks in advance. All requests for out-of-county rides should schedule at least 24 hours in advance. We can schedule rides for you up to two weeks in advance. Rides are not guaranteed until confirmed by the scheduler.
For situations when you need a return ride but you can’t be sure of the time the ride will be needed (such as for doctor’s appointments), we will schedule you for a “will call” ride. You call the dispatcher when you are ready to be picked up. All call-ins must be received by the office no later than 5:00 p.m.
NOTIFYING THE PUBLIC OF RIGHTS UNDER TITLE VI
Cheyenne County Public Transportation operates its programs and services without regard to race, color, and national origin in accordance with Title VI of the Civil Rights Act. Any person who believes she or he has been aggrieved by any unlawful discriminatory practice under Title VI may file a complaint with Cheyenne County, KS.
For more information on Cheyenne County Public Transportation’s civil rights program, and the procedures to file a complaint, contact :
- Cheyenne County Clerk
- 212 E Washington
- St. Francis, KS 67756
A complainant may file a complaint directly with the Federal Transit Administration by filing a complaint with the Office of Civil Rights, Attention: Title VI Program Coordinator, East Building, 5th Floor-TCR, 1200 New Jersey Ave., SE, Washington, DC 20590
If information is needed in another language, contact 785-332-8800.
Si se necesita información en otro idioma, el contacto 785-332-8800.
To submit general feedback or information on an incident with Public Transportation, download and complete the External Incident Form or contact the program coordinator at 785-332-2560 to obtain a copy.
As outlined in thewhich was adopted by the county commissioners on October 31, 2016:
Any person who feels that he or she, individually or as a member of any class of persons, on the basis of race, color, or national origin has been excluded from or denied the benefits of, or subjected to discrimination caused by the Cheyenne County Public Transportation Program, may file a written complaint with the Cheyenne County Clerk. Ais available for download at www.cncoks.us/riders and is available in hard copy at the County Clerk’s Office. Upon request, the County Clerk will mail the complaint form. Such complaints must be filed within 180 calendar days after the date the discrimination occurred.
Assistance in the preparation of any complaints will be provided to a person or persons upon request and as appropriate. If information is needed in another language please contact the County Clerk, (785) 332-8800.
Necitamos la informacion en otro lenguague, contacto (785) 332-8800.
Complaints should be mailed to or submitted by hand to: Cheyenne County Clerk 212 E Washington St. Francis, KS 67756
WE'LL TAKE YOU WHERE YOU NEED TO GO
- Medical Appointments
- Senior Center
- Good Samaritan Village
- Swimming Pool
- Visit a Friend
- You name the place!
RULES OF SERVICE
- Children 12 and under must be attended by an adult
- Children 13-17 may ride alone only with written approval from a guardian
- Guardians must provide appropriate car or booster seats for children
- Service animals are allowed and must be under owner control at all times
- No open alcoholic containers are allowed
- No hazardous materials are allowed (gas, car batteries, etc.)
- Vehicle will wait no more than 5 minutes at a pickup location
- SEATBELTS are required to be worn while the vehicle is in motion
- Passengers may bring personal items so long as all items can be safely stored on board and carried by the individual.
- Food and drinks are allowed, but drinks must be in closed containers or have secured lids. The driver reserves the right to secure drinks in the front of the vehicle if necessary.
If the Transportation Coordinator determines the weather is such that it is unsafe to operote, then the service will be ceased for the time/day in question. Every effort will be made to contact scheduled riders of the cancellation. The Agency also has the right to refuse service to riders in the case rood conditions ore such that it could cause harm to the transportation vehicles.